Skip to content

Apologia – Journeys of Faithfulness {Schoolhouse Crew Review}

November 6, 2012

Photobucket

Earlier this year, I introduced you to Apologia Educational Ministries, Inc. by reviewing “Who Is My Neighbor” from the What We Believe series.  Again, I was blessed to be selected to review another wonderful resource from Apologia!  This time it was a book for me to read with my daughter (age 11).  What a growing time we had in devotion together.  This book proved to be an excellent reason to sit down at the end of the day together and read and enjoy one another’s company.

Written by Sarah Clarkson, Journeys of Faithfulness is a 232 page book designed to strengthen the reader’s walk with Christ.  Each chapter starts with a fictional story about a woman of faith – Mary, Martha, Mary (Mother of Jesus), Esther or Ruth.  The story is followed by a devotional, then a short Bible study, and finally a few blank pages for journaling.  The book is broken down into four parts – three chapters in each part.

According to the book’s cover,

Sarah Clarkson is the author of Read for the Heart:  Whole Books for Wholehearted Families.  When not writing she can be found hiking, reading, drinking English tea, and traveling the world with Whole Heart Ministries.  Sarah makes her home in the beautiful foothills of Colorado’s Rocky Mountains.

My daughter and I decided to have our devotionals at night.  We sat down together in bed and I would read to her.  I found that this was a hard reading for her – lots of large words.  (There were even some big words for me!)  She is a little younger than the recommended age of 12, however, I don’t think her vocabulary will grow in the next six months to the point where she would be able to easily understand many of these words.  (Words like stoic, stymied, unbridled, doleful, obeisance, and tenacity.)  Some of the meanings she easily derived from context, however, I had to define a lot of the terminology for her.

When we got to the Bible study I would read the scripture and then we discussed the questions aloud.  I enjoyed the Bible study part the most with her because I really got to see where she was in her thinking about the story and devo we had just read.  It was interesting to me her insights and viewpoints.  Sometimes she really surprised me with what she had taken away from our study.  The depth at which the study touched her heart was amazing!  Sometimes I find it easy to forget that my children are growing into little adults every day.  Seriously.  I still think of them as little people, not people with which I would have deep discussions.  Sarah’s book brought this false thinking of mine into the light every time my daughter and I sat down to study. Wonderful!
Photobucket

My opinion?  This was a lovely study of Godly women and my daughter and I enjoyed it immensely.  It was such a treat to have a guide to help me traverse her thoughts on topics like love, hope, a quiet spirit, meditation, praise, faith, and spiritual fervor among other things.  The book was packed full of beautiful verbal illustrations of what might have happened in the lives of female Bible characters.  It was a delight to read and helped me to value, even more deeply, devotional time with my daughter.  If, however, you plan for your daughter to read it on her own, I would suggest waiting until age 13 and maybe 14 because of the intense vocabulary.

Recommended for ages 12 and up, Journeys of Faithfulness is available for $13.00 from Apologia’s website.  Additionally, you may read a sample chapter or look at the table of contents to get a better feel for the book.

Photobucket

DISCLAIMER: As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received a complimentary copy of Journeys of Faithfulness for the purpose of completing this review. All the opinions expressed here are my own and are offered honestly in exchange for the product. The receipt of the product in no way influenced my honest assessment.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

