Skip to content

Math 911 {Schoolhouse Crew Review}

September 11, 2012

Math 911

My children are all below the age of 11, so guess who got to do this review?  ME!  I always write the reviews but rarely do I get the chance to be the one giving all the opinions, but this all changed with Math 911.  I was able to brush up on my Algebra skills all by myself!  It was almost as fun as reading a good book!  I decided to do this because, other than multiplication and long division, I don’t get much of a math challenge these days.  And let’s face it, it won’t be much longer before my oldest kids are ready to take the plunge into Pre-Algebra so I’d better get ready.

Math 911 was designed for students who are convinced that Algebra is too difficult for them.  As you’ll see below, Math 911 has been offering an economical solution to this reaction to Algebra since 1989.  Professor Martin Weissman, a teacher with nearly 50 years teaching experience, developed this program to help these children.

From the website:

Topics are arranged by chapter, section and levels. Within each level are all the types of problems that identify the concepts that your students must know in order to be successful in Algebra including Graphs and Word Problems.   All problems are algorithmically generated.

In order to test out this program, Professor Weissman offered a downloadable version of the math programs he offers.  Yes, program*s*.  It’s not just an Algebra course.  He included Intermediate Algebra, Statistics, Trigonometry, College Algebra, and Pre-Calculus.  I started with College Algebra.  I have taken College Algebra before and expected it not to be too difficult.  Well, let’s just say I needed the review.

I initially had to right click on the icon and “Run as Administrator” – just a helpful note.  After choosing the level with which to begin, the program then gave me an equation at the top of the screen.  Further instructions were given toward the bottom of the screen.  It was a little awkward at first, but I caught on quickly.  I had to type my answers in using the keyboard.  (I found that for some problems later, I had to use my mouse to choose symbols on the screen.)  When I was done, I pressed “Enter” and the board told me if I was right.  When I got the answer correct, I got a big “¡¡¡RIGHT!!!” in the display.  If I wasn’t on top of my game, the program proceeded to show me the correct answer.  If I didn’t understand at that point, I could choose “See Solution” and then “See All Steps” from buttons on the right.  That was it.  Simple.  Straightforward.  Math.

Another helpful hint, I found the “Control + N” buttons to be very helpful while using this program.  That combination brought up a new problem.  If I had wanted, I could have clicked “New Problem” on the right but it was nicer not having to move back and forth from the mouse and just work from the keyboard.

Math 911 Disclaimer

Likes:

  • Simplicity.  This was a very basic, no frills, no cartoons sort of program.  If you want your child entertained, look to video games.  This program will teach math.  Here are some sample screen shots to give you an idea of what I mean.
  • Adaptability.  Math 911 could effortlessly be used in conjunction with any other math program.
  • Math 911 reinforces the positive and eliminates the negative.  Since this program follows the mastery learning approach, the student only gets graded on the problems he gets right.  The problems that are responded to incorrectly are corrected simply through the step-by-step answer supplied by the program.
  • Networking the program is an option.  So wonderful for a large family with multiple users!
  • Other than the original download and upgrades, no internet connection is required.  If you choose to get the flash drive, you never need an internet connection.

Professor Weissman

Dislikes:

  • When using the calculator, you have to close the calculator to type in the answer on the page.  So you have to keep the answer from the calculator in your head long enough to close the calculator with the mouse and then type in the answer on the page.  I wish the calculator could have just stayed open.
  • This is a DOS-like program.  Very simple – which is good…and bad.  I like to multi-task and if I ever left Math 911 to go, say, check e-mail or add something to this review, I couldn’t get back into the program without reopening it.  I would have to go to my desktop and double click the Math 911 icon again like I was starting the program for the first time.  Then, I would be taken to the “home page” to choose a level again.  Any work I had completed appeared to be there, however, I did have to choose my level again as if starting over.  Moral?  Don’t multi-task whilst performing math problems!

My opinion?  I remember being frustrated in the 8th grade with Algebra.  I think if I’d had a positive program like Math 911 available to me then I would have been more successful.  I, personally, plan to be successful with Statistics and maybe even a little Calculus with this program!  With all the information and practice jam packed into one program I think you’d be missing out on a wonderful opportunity if you didn’t purchase Math 911 for your youngster or even yourself.

The Standard Version of Math911 – a complete Algebra One course – can be downloaded from the website for free!  There is also an option to upgrade to the Premier Version for a limited time for only $49.95.  With the Premier Version you have free lifetime updates, free technical support as well as access to additional Mathematics Courses with separate grade reports for all family members (including Mom and Dad!)  For a limited time, use the code:  homeschool to receive the product for $9.95.

Photobucket

DISCLAIMER: As a member of the Schoolhouse Review Crew, I received a complimentary copy of Math 911 for the purpose of completing this review. All the opinions expressed here are my own and are offered honestly in exchange for the product. The receipt of the product in no way influenced my honest assessment.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

