Skip to content

Going No Poo – It’s all the rage!

August 17, 2012

No Poo.  Have you heard of it?  It’s an idea sweeping the internet.  What it means is No SHAMpoo.  See?  No Poo.

Different people go no poo in various ways.  Some simply stop washing their hair and wait for the oils to chill out.  This inevitably leads to some bad hair days.  Some people use a mixture of water and baking soda to clean their hair and then do a final rinse with apple cider vinegar.  Some people take it a step further and add extra virgin olive oil (EVOO) as a deep conditioner once a week.  The whole point is NOT to use standard shampoos and conditioners.  Nothing that gets marketed as solving this problem or that and has 17 different ingredients you can’t read.  It’s about getting back to basics and the idea is frankly spreading.

I first heard about this over a year ago.  Then you could find a few articles and maybe a YouTube or two on the concept, but now there is a wealth of information out there.  Questions are getting answered, people are sharing their experiences and solving the problems of “My hair is too dry, still too oily, etc.”  Tweeks are happening and No Pooing is gaining fame!

So, I got on the wagon myself.  My husband encouraged me.  He has psoriasis on his scalp and is always looking for a way to cure it.  When he became convinced that the chemicals in his specialty shampoos could be the culprit – he was a man on a mission.  He asked me, “So have you ever heard of this “no poo” stuff?”  When I answered in the affirmative his jaw dropped.  Then he began to pick my brain about all I knew.  I began to do some further research to help him out and that when I discovered just how far the No Poo trend has reached.

So, now I’m a week and a half into being a No Pooer myself!  You just never know how things are going to change in your life.  Keep it spicy!  Well, baking soda isn’t too spicy, but you get what I’m saying.

My new friend, Melanie (ok, she doesn’t even know I exist, but she’s so sweet, I’m sure we’d be fast friends if we ever met) has a great YouTube of how to go No Poo and have great looking hair.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

