Skip to content

Why Life Can Seem Like Work

January 21, 2011

Fog Timelapse by dhworth, on Pix-O-SphereI want to speak grace, confidence and encouragement into my children.  I want to do this every day.  Every hour.

If this is what I want, why does it seem so difficult at times?

It’s been said that if you love what you do, you will do it well.  I love my children.  I love being their mother.  So, if I love them so much, why do I feel so guilty at the end of so many days? Why do I feel like I failed at being their best mom?

Perhaps this is similar to what Paul meant when he said in Romans 7:15, “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”

It’s so much easier to brush my children off to play with one another instead of taking the time to site down and play one-on-one with them.  It’s easier to pop a frozen meal into the oven for dinner than to work two hours to make something healthier and well balanced for their nourishment. It’s easier to receive encouragement and laughter from a friend over the phone or via text than it is to be present to sort through an argument my kids are having.

But these are my battles. These are the daily choices with which I’m faced.  “What I want to do…” {interweave my life into the lives of my children through daily, intimate interaction and involvement}”…I do not do.  But what I hate…”{spending too much time with distractions that have no eternal existence}“…I do.”

So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. – Romans 7:21

Holy Father, I pray You will work in me.  Work through my sinful nature.  Cast Your powerful shadow over my opponents.  Give me the tools I need to do life in this body – to do my work effectively.  To love my children as You love them.  To speak grace, confidence and encouragement into their hearts and minds daily.  Hourly.  In the name of Your son, Jesus, amen.

How do you find the courage to actually do what you really want to do?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

