Skip to content

Tomato Soup Says Love

October 13, 2010

If you haven’t had the opportunity to have a cold yet this season, live vicariously with me for a moment.  Aching body, exhaustion, sore throat, coughing, sneezing, general ickiness all over.  You remember, right?

The whole family has had some sort of something this last week.  We’ve all been pretty miserable.  We don’t often get sick, but when we do, we sure like to share!

In steps a precious neighbor.  A thoughtful, woman with a heart for God and a willingness to share.  A willingness to share her homemade tomato soup.  She brought it over freshly stewed and warm.  With chunks of tomato and onion and a smooth, creamy texture…to this sick mama, nothing says love like a sweet neighbor with hot tomato soup!

A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed. – Proverbs 11:25

Thank you, God, for putting women that care into my life!  I am abundantly blessed!

What do you do to help your neighbors heal when life gets them down?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    November 19, 2010 12:02 pm

    I was looking through your posts in an effort to choose one to leave a comment for the Happy Heiny’s giveaway when this post struck me…I was reminded of a neighbor I recently heard lost her dad. Thanks for the reminder that I need to do something to show her our love and support and Jesus through us!

  2. November 19, 2010 2:24 pm

    I discovered your blog via the giveaway at Keeper of the Home. I’ve enjoyed meandering around your little blog-home. 🙂 And what a sweet, sweet neighbor you have. Meals are such a practical way to serve those close to us. P.S. Tomato Soup tastes even creamier (and oh so good) with a spoonful of peanut butter swirled in it. My grandma is responsible for that little tip. 😉

  3. Mary Kathryn permalink
    November 19, 2010 8:09 pm

    We have been recovering from illnesses and other trials this week and a soup would have done us good for dinner. It made me realize how I want to be better prepared not only for my own family but to our new neighborhood. I would love to be the one to make someone’s rough day better by a yummy comforting soup or meal. Thanks for the encouragement.

  4. Janelle permalink
    November 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    I have a sweet neighbor too…my mother-in-law! Whenever I’m sick she usually invites us up to their house for a meal…it’s a blessing!

  5. Andrea permalink
    November 20, 2010 7:37 pm

    I am realizing that this is probably not the soup you ate, but Mmm. It looks good. Do you have any good tomato soup recipes?

    I really like your blog here. Very sweet and helpful. I’m not sure how you are hosting a six diaper giveaway, but I”m appreciative! Thanks.

  6. Jen permalink
    November 28, 2010 9:43 pm

    That looks really, really good! Just made some tomato soup yesterday….could go for some more today too! 😀

    Back home in FL, I have a lot of people who are sweet like that. Then my husband and I moved to a different state and received lots of love via food from our neighbor/friend (she’s from the south and she describes cooking as showing her love to us.. especially if we are sick. It’s good to have that mom/homey feel)
    Now we moved again. I am sure people here are like that too, we just haven’t got close enough to them yet.
    Great to know you have blessing in your life that God has granted you through people 🙂 Hope you feel better now!

Trackbacks

  1. Blessed by Feet « The Proverbial Woman

Leave a Reply

