Skip to content

Rotisserie-style oven roasted chicken recipe

October 5, 2010
tags: ,

I recently got two whole chickens on sale and, sad to say, I’d never cooked a whole chicken by myself.  I’d watched my mother do it a handful of times and I’ve always heard of how cost efficient it is to purchase a chicken whole with all the skin and bones, etc. but….it’s safe to say I have “tactile issues”.  (i.e. I hated fingerpainting even in Kindergarten!)  So, as you might imagine, the thought of touching a raw, slimy, life-like-minus-the-feathers chicken was completely and utterly undesirable to me.

However, in an effort to set a good example for my children on being a good steward, I took the suggestion of a friend and invested in rubber gloves.  Then, the chicken.  And now, I have a delicious roasted chicken success-story recipe to share! (NOTE:  The chicken still feels slimy, even through rubber gloves, but for the raw poultry squeemish types like me, it is doable.)

If you love the taste of a rotisserie chicken without owning a rotisserie chicken oven – this recipe is going to be one you’ll add to family cookbook! If you have lots of mouths to feed – or especially want left over chicken – don’t hesitate to get a bigger chicken.

Rotisserie-style Oven Roasted Chicken

(Special thanks for her inspiration goes to Sue Rogers from AllRecipes.com for sharing a great place to start!)

Ingredients:

  • rubber gloves (optional for some; required for me)
  • 1 – 2lb. whole chicken (preferably on sale)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 small onions
  • 2 cloves of fresh garlic

Directions:

  1. Mix together salt, paprika, onion powder, thyme, black pepper, cayenne pepper & garlic powder.
  2. Mince garlic cloves.  Quater onions.
  3. Don rubber gloves.
  4. Discard any “innards” from your chicken.  Rinse the bird inside and out.  Groom if needed.  (remove any unwanted feather bits, etc.)  Pat dry.
  5. Rub chicken both on the outside as well as the inside with spice mixture.
  6. Place onion quarters and minced garlic inside chicken.
  7. Double wrap chicken with plastic wrap and place in roasting pan/pot in refrigerator for 24 hours.
  8. Remove rubber gloves with surgical precision being sure not to get even an ounce of chicken goo…..ok, well, not everyone needs this step.
  9. Preheat oven to 250°F.  Unwrap chicken and discard plastic wrap.
  10. Place roasting pan/pot in oven uncovered for 5 hours.  (At hour three, I raised the oven temperature to 275°F for an hour, then back down to 250°F for the remaining hour.)
  11. Check the temperature of the chicken with a meat thermometer.  Your chicken is done when the inside of the bird is no less than 180°F.
  12. Let the chicken rest for 10 minutes before carving.

Enjoy this tender, delicious treat! (Be sure to save the leftovers….more recipes soon on what to do with them – YUM!)

This post is part of We Are That Family’s “Works For Me Wednesday” blog carnival.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 6:29 am

    Yum! I *love* rotisserie chicken….I’ll definitely be testing this recipe soon! Thanks for sharing!

    (WFMW)

  2. November 19, 2010 3:27 pm

    I make something just like this but put it in the crock-pot. Delicious!

  3. Michelle permalink
    November 20, 2010 12:48 am

    This sounds delicious… Can’t wait to try it!

  4. Corinne permalink
    November 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    Visiting from Keeper of the Home. I have roasted chicken for years, but this is a new but intriguing method to me, especially since I love rotisserie chicken. I will definitely be trying this method! Thank you!

    • givingglory permalink*
      November 21, 2010 1:21 am

      I’d love to hear how your family likes the chicken, Corinne!

Leave a Reply

