Skip to content

Give and Take

August 20, 2010

The Lord giveth and He taketh away.

In the past, I’ve heard these words often spoken at funeral services.  When so many hearts are breaking it does beg the question in the hearts of men, “Why did he take her away from me?”

I’ve always applied this phrase, albeit selfishly, to the  things I wanted to keep (i.e. a loved one, a friendship, a job).

But tonight I realized:

  • He also gave me babies and took away the pain I felt while delivering them (when the delivery was over, of course).  🙂  The physical pain didn’t linger for the remainder of my life, but the treasure he placed in my care has endured.
  • Over the years, I’ve seen dark times.  During those times (and even in the not-so-dark times), the Lord gives me friends and takes away my loneliness through them.
  • In my sadness, the Lord gives me tears which enable me to let Him wash away my sorrows.
  • In my fatigue, the Lord gives me a renewed spirit and takes away my sins.
  • In my times of struggle, the Lord gives me wisdom and takes away my worries.

So, yes, my Lord does take away my “good things” at times and I may never understand His ways.  But more important than understanding Him is remembering that He also takes away a lot of the things I don’t want, too.


The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away.

BLESSED BE THE NAME OF THE LORD!

I lift up my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?

~Psalm 121:1

Photo provided courtesy of godwin d.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

