Skip to content

Crustless Quiche

July 20, 2010

A yummy recipe for crustless quiche is perfect for a brunch or even dinner!  Without the crust, your quiche loses a lot of unneeded carbohydrates but maintains all of its cheesy goodness. In the search for my perfect crustless quiche, I looked in quite a few places.  Here are a couple of the links I consulted (and decided to eventually use) prior to deciding on what to do:

Pillsbury – they had a great recipe but, of course, they wanted you to use one of their prepared crusts which I wasn’t wanting to do; however, this recipe was the foundation for my end result

Cookie Madness – usually a blog about cookies, this lady suggested tossing the cheese with some flour, which I decided to do

Three Sisters’ Recipes – this recipe is for quiche lorraine (meaning it contains bacon), but I loved how to check to see if the quiche was done and also the thought of adding some green onions.  If I’d had half and half on hand, I might have been tempted to follow this recipe exactly, but that is not a normal staple for my home.

My Concoction

1 – 1 1/2 cups 1/4 inch cubed cooked ham

1 cup frozen broccoli florets, thawed, well drained

1 1/2 cups (or more) shredded Swiss cheese (6 oz.)

1 Tbsp all-purpose flour

4 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dry ground mustard

1/2 1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 1/4 tsp garlic powder

(optional) diced green onions

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 400°F.  Lightly grease a 9 inch pie pan.  (I used olive oil in a spray can, but Three Sisters’ Recipes

2.  Spread the ham evenly on the bottom of the pie dish.  Then layer with broccoli.  (I cut my florets into smaller pieces so they would be spread throughout the dish.)  Next, layer with onion if you choose to use this ingredient.

3.  In a small bowl, toss shredded cheese with flour.  (I used freshly milled hard white wheat flour.  YUM!)

4.  In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs and milk.  Add salt & pepper, mustard & garlic and whisk again.
(Next time I make this, I will reduce the garlic powder and pepper to closer  to 1/4 tsp.  The whole half teaspoon was a little strong for my family.)

5.  Add cheese/flour mixture to egg/milk mixture.  Stir gently (I used a fork.) to coat the cheese with egg.

6.  Pour cheese/egg mixture over broccoli and ham.  With a fork, spread the cheese out to be more evenly distributed.

7.  Bake for 40 minutes or until knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

My quiche had a lovely brown top and the rest of it was just delicious!  I only wish my pictures showed just how pretty is was and how yummy it tasted!

What is your favorite crustless quiche recipe?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

