Skip to content

Time Management and Kids – Really? (Part II)

May 13, 2010

(Here’s the link to Part I if you missed it)

calendarRoutines

Getting your kids into a routine for time management may be the single most important step. Our lives revolve around routines – ever tried to switch up your shower routine?  Beware – you might miss cleaning a few body parts if you’re not careful!  Routines allow us to get the important things done in our days – sometimes we can even do this on autopilot.  If we train our children through repeated practice of what happens and when, we will find our days will go more smoothly.

One example is to set up a specific time for our kids to work on their homework. If you homeschool, make sure the children know when to expect their education time.  This might be as specific as 8 a.m. or as general as “after the baby is down for his morning nap.”

Some parents like to hold off on fun things until all the work or chores are completed, however, in my personal experience, I’ve found that as long as there is a time for everything, fun can happen at any point.  I don’t like using school work as the “un-fun” item and going outside as a reward.  By scheduling time for each, regardless of the order, it teaches my children that both are important.

Leading by Example

Remember, you can’t help them to practice time management if you are not using good time management skills yourself. As parents, we are constantly under a microscope.  Our children want to eat what we eat, stay up as late as we do, help make dinner, etc.  They are always watching and learning.  If we model time management skills, they, in turn, will learn better ways to manage their time.

Sometimes I find that talking through what I’m doing out loud helps my kids to realize that I’m performing the same tasks I’m asking them to do.  For example, if making a dentist appointment is on my list of things to do, I will say,

“Kids, mommy needs to phone the dentist office now and I need your help.  I need to be able to hear while on the phone, so could you guys find something quiet to do for a few minutes?”

After I’ve made the appointment I say,

“OK, now I just need to mark this date and time on the calendar so I won’t forget and then you all can go back to your regular activities.”

By walking them through my thought process, they recognize the importance of planning for appointments – not to mention being courteous while mom is on the phone.

Photo by exalthim.

How do you teach your children time management?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 6:45 pm

    Hi!

    I’m cleaning out my email inbox today and saw that I needed to respond to several of your questions about cooking (I think you left me a comment back on a post I commented on at Keeper of the Home)

    Here is my pancake recipe: http://ourtraditionalhome.blogspot.com/2010/01/pancake-fest.html

    Tortillas are:
    5 C. Whole Wheat Fresh Ground Flour (Works out perfect to use 3 C. of hard wheat)
    2 C. Warm Water
    1/2 C. Olive Oil
    2 tsp. Salt
    2 tsp. Baking Powder

    Then I have a VillaWare Tortilla Press- I got mine off eBay for about $45 with shipping!

    Both of those recipes are some of the house favorites here for my husband and his friends!

  2. Christine permalink
    November 19, 2010 2:23 pm

    Yikes! I am not that great at time menagement and routines… I am very much a fly by the seat of my pants kind of girl! Lately, though I have been trying much harder to establish something that makes a little more sense for getting everything done!

Leave a Reply

